Princess Dina Mired has been elected UICC President

2016 UICC General Assembly: Announcement of election results 1 November 2016, Paris France – On behalf of the Union for International Cancer Control (UICC), I am delighted to announce the results of the election for the 2016 – 2018 UICC Board of Directors and President-elect which took place this evening in Paris, France during the 2016 UICC General Assembly. We were fortunate to have so many wonderful candidates nominated to assume such prominent positions in UICC, and for the first time, had two President-elect candidates, both of whom I know very well and admire greatly.

On this occasion, the UICC full membership elected HRH Princess Dina Mired as President-elect, and we will have the pleasure of having her in this role for the next two years until the next General Assembly in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia in October 2018.   The General Assembly also voted for the new Board of Directors, choosing 14 names from a list of 20 incredible candidates. I am pleased to announce that the new Board of Directors will be: • Benjamin Anderson • Heather Bryant • Maira Caleffi • Eduardo Cazap • Sally Cowal • Anil D’Cruz • Jeff Dunn • Nick Grant • Mhamed Harif • Hussein Khaled • Anne Lee • Gilbert Lenoir • Saunthari Somasundaram • Ann Steyn.

It has been an exciting day in Paris with a full two days of the World Cancer Congress to go. May I thank all the candidates for showing their support to UICC and congratulate those who will be joining Sanchia and I on the Board over the next two years.

Prof. Tezer Kutluk President Union for International Cancer Control (UICC)